Image that says


Located in Missoula, Montana, the University of Montana (UM), School of Public and Community Health Sciences (SPCHS) is housed within the College of Health Professions and Biomedical Sciences (CHPBS).  The Montana Board of Regents approved the SPCHS administrative unit in March 2005, with its first class of students enrolled during the Fall 2006. 

The SPCHS affords students three program opportunities: a 42-credit online Master of Public Health (MPH), a 12-credit online Certificate of Public Health (CPH), and a new 90-credit campus based PhD in Public Health. 

We are the first and only Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) accredited program in our state.  The CEPH Board of Councilors approved the University of Montana’s original application for accreditation on June 20, 2009.  The CEPH Board of Councilors acted at its June 21-23, 2012 meeting to accredit our MPH Program for a five-year term, extending to July 1, 2017.  Our PhD program in Public Health became CEPH accredited on December 20, 2016.  In October of 2017, the SPCHS was awarded a maximum seven-year accreditation for both it's MPH and PhD programs extending through December 2024.